My New Radio Show: The Expedition

September 16, 2015 at 2:09 pm

The Expedition on Dash Radio

I am producing and hosting a brand new radio show on the Dash Radio Network.  “The Expedition – A Journey Into Sound with Frank Foreal” is all about uncovering music,new and old, from all over the world. New bands, producers, DJ’s, as well as vintage finds. I’m very excited to be producing this show alongside fellow music junkies, Derrick Ah Sam and Michelle Choug, who I’ve spent many hours (and years) with talking about music that we love.  The Expedition airs every Friday at 5pm PT /8pm ET, with a re-broadcast every Saturday at 7pm PT / 10pm ET.

You can listen to our recent archives via our new Mixcloud page, and make plans to tune in this week.  We could also use your support via all social media networks: find us on Facebook/Instagram/Twitter @EXPEDITIONRADIO.  If you enjoy what you hear, please like and share!

That being said, this is a bittersweet moment, as I will be stepping away from my duties on Soundwaves Radio, a great program that I have had the honor to work on the past 20 months. Without Sean Osborn‘s generosity, bringing me on the airwaves with him, Val The Vandle, and Francesca Harding, I could not have earned the confidence and experience to lead me to this point. I am so grateful to you all!

Forward Listening 21

December 20, 2011 at 8:00 am

I’m proud to announce Forward Listening Vol. 21, available now on The Noise Academy’s website and iTunes.  2 hours of goodness from Chris Berry, MdCL, Captain Planet, Colman Brothers, Toro Y Moi, DJ Cam, and more…

Lots of great music for you to enjoy.


Hour 1

Charles Lloyd Quartet – Dream Weaver [ Concert in Athens; ECM Records ]
Me’shell Ndegeocello – Don’t Take My Kindness For Weakness [ Weather; Naive Records ]
Chris Berry – Lari’s Theme (End Theme) [ Oka! OST; Oka Productions ]
El Rego – Do Do Baya [ El Rego; Daptone ]
Empresarios – Cumbia Savage (Instrumental) [ Bestia EP; Fort Knox Recordings ]
Amerigo Gazaway – Stakes Is High [ Fela Soul; Self Released ]
Jonwayne – Just A Minute [ I Don’t Care; Self Released ]
DJ 2-Tone Jones – Blue Hype [ Shaolin Jazz: The 37th Chamber; Self Released ]
DJ Center – You Got The Love (Applejac’s Hookah Lounge Remix) [ Everything in Time Remixed; Push The Fader ]
MdCL – Alabi (feat. Sandra Nkake) [ Renegades; Tru Thoughts ]
Bio Ritmo – Dina’s Mambo [ La Verdad; Electric Cowbell ]
Mongo Santamaria – Mongo’s Mambo (Joe Claussell Remix) [ Africa Caribe; Hammock House/Fania ]
Captain Planet – Samba Radiante [ Cookin’ Gumbo; Bastard Jazz ]
Colman Brothers – Another Brother (Big Band Mix) [ Colman Brothers ; Wah Wah 45’s ]

Hour 2

Mocean Worker – Do Like Ya Like [ Candygram for Mowo!; MRI ]
Sun Singleton – Ready (Opolopo Remix) [ Stilnovo Sessions Vol. 1; Stilnovo ]
The Getalong Gang – Better Than This [ It’s All House; Public Recordings ]
Aischa Traidia – What’s Going On [ Single; Melting Pot Music ]
Toro Y Moi – All Alone [ Freaking Out EP; Carpark Records ]
Kutcorners – Diamond (Wajeed Remix) [ Single; 11-inch Records ]
DJ Cam – A Loop [ Seven; Laurent Daumail ]
Garfield Adams – Build and Destroy (feat. Derrick Buck) [ 1st Things First; Stemulated Music ]
J-Live – No Time To Waste [ Said Person of That Ability; Triple Threat Music ]
Evidence – You [ Cats & Dogs; Rhymesayers ]
J.Bizness – 260 Dionne [ Flips Vol. 1; Self Released ]
Jose James – Trouble [ Single; Self-Released ]
Sarah Linhares – Here [ Messages from the Future; Public Transit ]
Grace Jones – This is Life [ Hurricane; Play It Again, Sam ]
Daedelus – Penny Loafers [ Bespoke; Ninja Tune ]
Bjork – Dark Matter (With Choir & Organ) [ Biophilia; Nonesuch ]
Moby – When You Grow Old [ Destroyed; Mute ]

Forward Listening 20 now available

December 5, 2011 at 10:00 am

This month’s edition of Forward Listening includes music from James Blake, Thundercat, Nas, Antibalas, Mr. Scruff, and more.  Enjoy!

Hour 1
Bill Withers – Hope She’ll Be Happier [ Live at Carnegie Hall; Sony/Columbia ]
James Blake – Limit To Your Love [ James Blake; Universal Republic ]
Jesse Futurman – I Love You So [ Super Basement EP; Jus Like Music ]
Robin Hannibal – Transit [ Bobby EP; Plug Research ]
Marc Hype & Jim Dunloop – The Mexican [ Stamp Out Reality; ???
Manu Dibango – New Bell [ Africadelic: The Best of Manu Dibango; Mercury ]
Antibalas – Rat Race [ 12″; Exactamundo ]
Tinariwen – Tenere Taqhim Tossam [ Tassili; Anti/Epitaph ]
Bombino – Tenere (The Desert My Home) [ Agadez; Cumbancha ]
Fools Gold – Narrow Sun [ Leave No Trace; IAMSOUND ]
AM & Shawn Lee – Dark Into Light [ Celestial Electric; ESL ]
Charles Bradley – Since Our Last Goodbye [ No Time For Dreaming Instrumentals; Daptone ]
Hour 2
J.Viewz – Salty Air [ Rivers & Homes; Jorjia Music ]
Kraak & Smaak – Wasted With A Smile [ Electric Hustle; Jalapeno ]
Shad & Frank Dukes – Flawless [ The New North; The Real Frequency ]
Zion I – The History [ Atomic Clock; Gold Dust ]
Nas – Nasty [ single; Def Jam ]
Ancient Astronauts – Nocturne [ Into Bass & Time; ESL ]
Mista Savona f. Alton Ellis – Chant Rasta Sound [ Warn The Nation; Savona Records ]
Prince Fatty – Come On, Girl *Disco Mix [ Supersize; Mr. Bongo ]
Chrissy Murderbot – Braaain [ 12″; Planet Mu ]
Little Dragon – Ritual Union *Tensnake Remix [ Ritual Union EP; Peacefrog Holdings ]
Thundercat – Daylight [ The Golden Age of Apocalypse; Brainfeeder ]
Mr. Scruff vs. Kristy Almeida – Pickled Spider [ Turntables on The Hudson Vol. 8; Wonderwheel ]
The Echocentrics – Crescent Sun [ Sunshadows; Ubiquity Records ]
Bing Ji Ling – Some Things Never Change [ Shadow To Shine; Tummy Touch ]
The Stepkids – Legend In My Own Mind [ The Stepkids; Stones Throw ]
Alabama Shakes – I Found You [ Alabama Shakes EP; Self Release ]
Ikebe Shakedown – The Prisoner [ Hard Steppin EP; Colemine Records ]

Forward Listening Vol. 19

October 14, 2011 at 8:00 am

I’m proud to announce another edition of Forward Listening, available now on The Noise Academy’s website and iTunes.  2 hours of goodness from Ocote Soul Sounds, Thievery Corporation, Mia Doi Todd, Bob & Gene, Garfield Adams, and more…